Remember That Time I Kept Buying/Wearing Almost The Same Color Lipstick?

Hello Originals,

img_0683

Lipsticks in this post from L to R: ELF Matte Lip Crayon in Praline, Maybelline The Loaded Bolds in Gone Greige, Colorpop Ultra Satin Lip in Alyssa, Urban Decay Vice Lipstick in Backtalk, NARS Audacious Lipstick in Apoline

 

So it pains me to say but my makeup days of taking 30 or 45 minutes to put a full face of makeup on are looong gone. Well at least for now, you know the whole taking care of a nine month old thing, plus being a teacher, puts a damper in my extravagant eye makeup routine. In fact I have gotten pretty darn good at applying my makeup in 15 minutes or less. I focus on skin, brows, and a no fuss lip.

I know, I know its fall! I am supposed to be attached to Pumpkin Spice Lattes and vampy dark lipstick. I am about to drop a bombshell on you all, I don’t like Pumpkin Spice Lattes, and applying dark vampy lipstick takes longer than my 15 minutes or less time frame allows. I have bought pretty awesome wear anytime, anywhere, lipsticks lately and I noticed a trend with them. They are all almost the same color…whoops! This is pretty common with beauty junkies, but I guess I am in denial about it. That is why I am swatching them all for you. Not only to help you find a no mess, no fuss lipstick at any price point, but also for you to tell me I am not crazy and they are in fact very different lipsticks (no they aren’t…but I have to at least try!!)

I am going in order from cheapest to most expensive. I mean they go from 3-32 dollars, I did a good job in running the price range gament on this one.

Lipstick # 1, Elf Matte Lip Crayon in Praline $3 USD

img_0695

This matte lip crayon in 3 bucks! Yep, 3 dollars, less than a Pumpkin Spice Latte. It is the most brownie nude of the bunch and works well as a lip liner as well. Drawback sort of drying, expected for a matte lip, but not too bad. Great corner lipstick for an ombre lip as well.

Lipstick # 2, ColorPop Ultra Satin Lip in Alyssa $6 USD

img_0697

This lipstick/liquid lipstick hybrid is from the online cult favorite makeup brand ColorPop. If you don’t own anything ColorPop, go get you some ColorPop. Everything is 12 dollars or less and it is the best quality stuff. This pinky neutral is from their amazing Ultra Satin Lip range. Long wearing but comfortable these lip products are truly unique. Alyssa is a wear everywhere type of color. Bonus, it is a collaboration with ColorPop and the badass YouTuber KathleenLights . That girl knows great lip products.

Lipstick # 3, Maybelline The Loaded Bolds in Gone Greige $6.99-7.49 USD

img_0686

So I have some mixed feelings about this color. It is probably the most trendy, the most fall shade of the bunch, but I think it looks odd on me. I think it will look great on everyone else, that is why I have included it, but it doesn’t look great over my natural lip color.Anyways, it is a brown/grey neutral that is unique, but not too odd to wear everyday. I also think this is the most difficult to apply out of the bunch. It does not go on evenly in one swipe, it is patchy in one swipe. But two swipes and than you are good.

Lipstick # 4, Urban Decay Vice Lipstick in Backtalk $17 USD

img_0690

I am going ahead and saying it, this is maybe my favorite lipstick ever, well definitely in the top 5. I have had it since July and I have completely ruined the bullet, it gets more and more nubby by the day. Its the most cool toned of all the ones in this post, a true mauve pink. Its in Urban Decay’s newly relaunched Vice range, which is code for a butt load of Urban Decay lipsticks. I am talking over 100 new lipsticks, in 5 finishes. It may as well be a new language there are so many options. I will simplify for you, get the Comfort Matte finish. That is exactly what this formula is, a comfortable long lasting matte. If you cant chose a color, get Backtalk YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

Lipstick # 5 NARS Audacious Lipstick in Apoline $32 USD

 

img_0692

This lipstick is the warmest of the bunch. It is a very warm pink, almost a summer color, but a little deeper and richer for a summer only color.Whatever it is perfect except for the price. We all know how I feel about NARS Audacious lipsticks and how they are the best ever. If you are going to spend 32 dollars, it most certainly is acceptable if its something you can wear everyday, and I think you can wear Apoline every day

Ok originals, those are my must haves for fall! Which one is your favorite on me? Stay tuned and stay original!

Love Always,

Alli G

Makeup in this post:

  • Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla
  • Wet’N Wild Contour/Highlight Palette in Dulce de Leche
  • Benefit Gimme Brow in Shade 1 Light
  • Milani Clear Brow Gel
  • New Covergirl Mascara I am testing
  • Lorac Romance Palette from Nordstrom Anniversary Sale on my cheeks, and my inner corner eye highlight

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Beauty Favorites, Top 5, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember That Time I Kept Buying/Wearing Almost The Same Color Lipstick?

  1. Hannah says:

    My favorite color on you is the Nars! You look great in them all though! I love your blog!

  2. Tressa Arbow says:

    I think my favorite is actually the first one! Also your hair looks so cute in all of these!

Leave a Reply

