What do sunsets, eyebrow gel, and horny goat weed have in common? They are all included in sub-par drugstore products from L’Oréal, ELF, and Physician’s Formula

I love drugstore products. Albeit this post and the last post may make you think otherwise…I do truly love drugstore makeup. Well, I love drugstore makeup that is affordable and works just as good, if not better than their department store counterparts. That being said, I don’t like just OK drugstore makeup.

I feel that instead of buying a bunch of just OK drugstore makeup, anyone can save their money towards one amazing department store purchase. I don’t like that sometimes a lot of drugstore makeup companies put in a lot of money in packaging and advertising, but skimp on the actual product inside. That is my cosmetic industry rant of the day! Sorry…I’m stepping down from my soapbox now.

These three drugstore products are just OK. Do you need them in your life? Absolutely 100 percent not! Can you save money by not buying all 3 and purchase one mid end product that will blow your mind…yes yes you can.

The 3 offenders here are

image

ELF Prism Eyeshadow Palette in Sunset

image

L’Oréal Brow Plumper in Transparent

image

Physician’s Formula Sexy Booster VA VA Voom  Volume Mascara

First up the Sunset Palette from ELF. I thought this was going to be great! Great reviews! Great YouTube tutorials! Beautiful warm color selection, including an outstanding looking
purple. It was also only 6 USD at my local Target. Well I have three words; glitter, patchy, and powdery.

Look at the swatches (no primer)

image

They have all right pigmentation. They have all right texture, not satiny or smooth at all. Just sort of powdery with glitter. The colors sort of swatch the same tone of color, and on the eye they didn’t perform much better.

image

They all muddle together, just different shades of orange. This palette is also desperately needing a matte to balance it out. I had to really work with these shadows; primer, different brushes, and also MAC Fix Plus. It is just too much dang work for not that much payoff. Also, if it’s this glittery and creasy on my line free eyelids…how is anyone over age 30 going to use this? I just think save your money, or buy a Wet n’ Wild eight pan eyeshadow palette.

Now for the eyebrow gel from L’Oréal. Just no, it did absolutely nothing for me. It didn’t hold my grandpa curly eyebrows in place, it didn’t “plump” anything, the only thing it did was comb my brow hairs. Which I can do with a .30 cent spooly. The brush design is cool, I like the length of the wand itself.

image

I don’t care that I didn’t get a “tinted” color one. Why make a transparent gel than, if it can’t do the simple job of holding anything in place? Exactly…just stick with my girl Anastasia of Beverly Hills Eyebrow gel, it almost costs the same as the L’Oréal version anyways.

Finally the VA VA Voom Volume Mascara from Physician’s Formula. I.E. the horny goat weed mascara, nope this isn’t a typo, but an actual claim of the mascara

image

I like some products from Physician’s Formula. I love their bronzers and one blush. I feel like PF is one of the biggest offenders when it comes to putting too much money into packaging, and not enough in the product. This mascara is a prime example. I don’t know why I bought this thing. Oh yes, because it was the week before Valentines Day and Fifty Shades of Grey, and the idea of having a mascara made with horny goat weed was highlarious to me. No really, it claims it has horny goat weed in it, as well as coco powder. Don’t believe me? LOOK AT THE BACK

image

These things are supposed to smell so good they attract the opposite sex. To me, it smells like a vanilla candy with an after taste of herbs thrown in there. Confused? So is this scent. I could get over the cheese factor of this mascara, IF it actually created volume, since you know it is a volume mascara. Alas, it doesn’t do it! It gave me some length and curl, but ZERO volume. The 24 hour wear claim? It did go flake free through a long night out. Too bad I cried on the job (weak moment I know) on Friday, and this mascara smeared everywhere! I wish PF spent less money on the high heel charm on the bottle, and more on an ingredient that created volume. Definitely save your money!

image

See the volume? Nope me either.

Finally look using all 3 products

image

I’m wearing all 3 of the products and a bunch of my other makeup to help out the lackluster ones. Save your money! I promise I am now on the hunt to find better things than these:)

Final Ratings
ELF Eyeshadow Palette
2.5/5
L’Oréal Brow Plumper
1.0/5
VA VA Voom Mascara
2.0/5

Stay tuned and stay original!

All my love,
Alli G

This entry was posted in Does it Really Work?, drugstore review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

