Top 14 Products of 2014

image

This is going to be a long post originals, so I will try my best to keep it less gabby as possible. Here are my ride or die, best, most beloved 14 products of 2014. You may want to go get a snack, or a comfy pillow, because this might take awhile. Instead of writing diatribes about each and every product, I am going to try to give each one a  rating, and maybe a 1-2 sentence explanation how I best used the product, or who the product may work for.

The rating will be based on convenience, easiness to use, pigmentation, and staying power. I will give each one up to 5 points. Convenience is how well it travels, how easy it is store, clunky packaging, etc. Easiness is how good you have to be at makeup to use the product. I didn’t include lip products because holy geez that is another post. Here we go…

1). Foundation Urban Decay Naked Foundation in Shade 3.0

image

Convenience: 4 out 5 (cap comes loose, you also have to shake it like spray paint before you use)
Easy to Use: 5 out 5
Pigmentation: 3 out 5
Staying Power: 4.5 out 5

Foundation is so subjective, but this is my favorite I tried this year. It is only for those that want light to medium coverage. I can apply it with my fingers and it stays most of the day and looks great in pictures. Some say that Maybelline Dream Wonder is a dupe, but not to me. The MDW clings to my dry patches, this doesn’t at all. The color selection is a little cray, any shades that end in .5 are cooler toned those that end in .0 are warmer toned. Leans very pale, hence why I can wear 3.0. Darn! That was not 1-2 sentences! Sorry!

2). Concealers, I have 3 of them
A. NARS  Radiant Creamy concealer in Vanilla

image

Sorry for the blurry pic, if you want more info check out my Racoon Eyes Post.

Convenience: 5 out 5
Easy to Use: 5 out 5
Pigmentation: 4 out of 5
Staying Power: 4 out of 5

Love it, one of the few concealers that covers both undeye  bags and pimples. If you have VERY dry skin or mature skin you may want to set with a powder for it to last all day.

B). Maybelline Instant Age Rewind in Fair

image

To learn more about this product check out my last post, "Biggest Makeup Mishaps of 2014"

Convenience: 4 out of 5
Easy to Use: 3.5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 3.5 out of 5
Staying Power: 4 out of 5

Best drugstore concealer for undereyes. It is higlighting, SO DO NOT use on pimples. Sponge tip applicator and twist applicator are annoying and don’t let you control how much product you use, but it is very doable.

C. MAC Prolong Wear Concealer in NC15

image

I dipped my toe in the MAC pond this year, and I am not disappointed!

Convenience: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use: 2 out 5
Pigmentation : 6 out of 5 (yes I meant that)
Staying Power: 5 out of 5

This thing means business. It is the only thing that has EVER COMPLETELY taken AWAY my under eye circles. It just is housed in a scary to break glass bottle that is messy and hard to use. I suggest for the more makeup savvy original.

3). Blushes
A. TARTE Exposed

image

Check out my "Get Your Glow On, Bronzing Guide" to find out more about this blush

image

Convenience: 5 out of 5
Easy to Use: 5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 4 out of 5
Staying Power: 4 out of 5

Great everyday blush for ANY skintone. Warms up pale girls, gives a rosiness  to darker complexions as well. Goes with any look and stays on a good long while.

B). Milani  Luminoso Blush

image

Conveience: 5 out of 5
Easy to Use: 5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 3.75 out of 5
Staying Power: 5 out of 5

My favorite blush ever. Enough said.

4). Eyebrow Products
Benefit Gimme Brow in Light/Medium and Anastasia of Beverly Hills Brow Whiz in Soft Brown

image

Benefit Gimme Brow
Convenience: 5 out of 5
Easy to Use: 5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 3 out of 5
Staying Power : 3.5 out of 5

Anastasia Brow Whiz
Conveince: 5 out of 5
Easy to Use: 3.5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 5 out of 5
Staying Power: 5 out of 5

Brows are having a moment (as they should) I use both these products on the regular. Benefit is more for the lazy days where I just want a tinted brow gel that gives me more color. Anastasia is when I actually want to shape my brows. I DON’T recommend Gimme Brow if you already have sparse, thin eyebrows. It won’t give you what you are looking for, go with Anastasia. Also my color in Soft Brown in the BW leans red. Get it in brunette, taupe, or blonde if you don’t want that.

5). Powder/Highlighter
Hourglass Highlighter/Setting Powder in Luminous Light

image

Convenience 4 out 5
Easy to Use: 5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 4 out of 5 (that’s a good thing)
Staying Power: 5 out of 5

Makes everything subtlety prettier. Is the finishing touch for pictures. No glitter in sight, use Luminous Light or Dim Light if you don’t know where to begin.  Both shades are goofproof.

6). Eyeshadows
A. Laura Mercier Caviar Stick in Amethyst

image

image

Convenience: 5 out of 5
Easy to Use: 4 out of 5
Pigmentation: 5 out of 5
Staying Power: 5 out of 5

I wanted to write about this thing but it was in a holiday kit that sold out at Sephora. You can get the full size/regular priced one anywhere where there are Laura Mercier products. It is the best single shadow ever. It is seriously concrete when it sets so you gotta work fast. Would be beautiful for any eye color.

B. Wet’N Wild Trio in Sweet As Candy

image

Convenience: 5 out of 5
Easy to Use: 5 out of 5
Pigmentation: 4 out of 5
Staying Power: 3 out of 5

Easiest every day look ever. Colors are buttery soft and always blend well. Best 3 bucks I have ever spent!

C. bareMinerals Eyeshadow Quad in Happy Place

image

image

Convenience: 4 out of 5 (gets so messy!)
Easy to Use: 4 out of 5
Pigmentation: 4 out of 5
Staying Power: 5 out of 5

Most of bareMinerals eyeshadow quads are top notch, better in quality than their more expensive countrt parts at Chanel or Dior. This quad is no exception. It has one of the most fascinating color combos I have seen. The orangey/peach Imagine is my favorite eyeshadow ever, and one of the best for blue eyes.

7). Mascaras
Mally Volumzing Mascara and Maybelline The Rocket Mascara.

image

Same Mally
Volumzing Mascara, just in a special holiday tube.

image

What a well loved tube of mascara!!

I am not going to do a rating system for these two. I am tired now (haha) and mascara is seriously so subjective. I just have to say that if you like thick, dramatic lashes these two will do the trick. Just a word of caution about both, Mally you have to let it dry out a bit, and the Rocket needs to be thrown out after about 2 1/2 months. I have noticed, that when I try to extend the life, it can brake my lashes off, and nobody got time for that.

image

Me on this bitterly cold day wearing the Urban Decay Foundation, NARS concealer, Laura Mercier Eyestick, Mally lashes, and Luminoso Blush

Here is to the 2015! Let’s make it the best year yet Originals! Stay tuned and stay original!

Love Always,
Alli G.

This entry was posted in Beauty Favorites, foundations and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

