Natural Wonders Review Part II, some products from Bite Beauty.

My lips with the super pigmented Bite Beauty Matte Crayon in Sweety

My lips with the super pigmented Bite Beauty Matte Crayon in Sweety

Hello Originals!

I sure do hope your week went better than my hellish week! This past work week was quite the stressful one, it sure made Cameron Diaz’s teaching philosophy from “Bad Teacher” look quite appealing!

Because of that, I did not curl or straighten my hair ( I had other things to do with my morning like sleep), but I must say, Wen sure made my wavy hair look pretty. It also felt nice to have no tangles all week! I will post pics, when I decide to actually have something besides natural texture to play around with.

On to the natural deodorant…that is a whole different post. I am giving it a full week to test out. That means I will leave you in suspense until this Sunday to blog about it. Please try to go along with your regularly scheduled plans this weekend without hearing about my armpits, ha!

On to a more “natural” makeup product, Bite Beauty lip products! If you have not heard about Bite Beauty, they are a lip product brand out of Canada. All their ingredients are marketed as being made for human consumption, or good enough for us to eat. Their products are also gluten free. Get the name of their brand? Lip products that you literally could take a bite out of. How cheeky!

Anyways they have a whole lot of different types of lip products ranging from gloss, to pure lipstick, to lip masks, lip crayons etc. Also claimed in the ingredients (at least in the High Pigment Pencil) is the famed antioxidant, resveratrol. In fact, the box claims there is something like 5 glasses of wine worth of resveratrol in every tube. I don’t know how on Earth they measured this except for maybe taking turns swigging bottles of wine and than putting on makeup, but whatevs.

The two products I tried out where the High Pigment Pencil, and also their new/maybe limited edition? Matte Creme Crayons. I apparently only like coloring my lips with crayons, must be that whole teacher thing, but moving on…

The Bite Beauty Matte Crayon in Sweety. Their packging is just sleek and black. I did not feel that the painted ends, we're truly representative of the color inside.

The Bite Beauty Matte Crayon in Sweety. Their packging is just sleek and black. I did not feel that the painted ends, are truly representative of the color inside.

I will talk about the Matte Creme Crayon first. There are only 6 colors in this particular release The others were orange or purple, so I went with the play it safe “neutral toned” Sweety. Holy Pigment Batman! This thing gave such intense color first swipe. It covered my natural lip color completely upon first application. The Crayon is a twist tube. It is thinner and skinner in packging than the High Pigment Pencils.

The actual tube of lip product is also skinnier, and thus easier to apply on my thin lips. I did not feel that this product was a true, true matte. Matte to my beauty newbies, means devoid of any shine/luster. This definitely had a little shine to it. Although called a creme, I also feel this thing dried out my lips. Not during application, or even wear, but the next morning after wear my lips were very chapped and a little flaky. Bear in mind, I have incredibly sensitive lips. The color wore through eating and drinking for 6 hours without reapplication. After wear my lips were stained pink. No strong smell to my nose, but a definite fruity, but in a weird fruit flavored hard candy type of way taste. I hope that makes sense. I adored the color and longevity, so I can deal with the lack of moisture.

Both colors I testes, Corvina (top) and Sweety (bottom) swatches on my hand

Both colors I testes, Corvina (top) and Sweety (bottom) swatches on my hand

One more look with Sweety on my lips.

One more look with Sweety on my lips.

Next on to the High Pigment Pencil in Corvina. Corvina is a warm orange/pink. On initial swatch, I thought it was going to be more coral (duh that is what a pink orange is!), but it is on light colored lips, more orange for sure. Although the packing on the Pencil are VERY similar, to the Matte Crayons, I still prefer the Matte Creme Crayons packing. The High Pigment pencil is stubbier, also making the actual product stubbier. This may leave easy application for a person with fuller lips, but it causes so much smearing on me. This guy is even more pigmented than the previous product, so there were orange smears all over my chin throughout wear.

Wear time on me was 5 hours, but I think it’s just because it kept smearing. I want to still try another color in this particular product. Maybe a less bold color will smear less easily? Or I might try with a lip brush.This formula was definitely more moisturizing than the crayon, so that is a huge plus! I couldn’t discern a strong fragrance, but it still tasted like a fruit. Maybe more natural fruit than the Matte Creme.

My orangey lips, courtesy of Corvina High Pigment Lip Pencil.

My orangey lips, courtesy of Corvina High Pigment Lip Pencil.

In short these are amazingly pigmented products! They are a good find not just for the gluten intolerant, or natural conscience makeup consumer, but for anyone wanting a kick butt lip product. If I had to rate, I would give the Matte Creme an A, and the High Pigment an A-

One more look at my lips with Corvina, yes shmear is included to show you how much that sucker did not stay on my lips!

One more look at my lips with Corvina, yes shmear is included to show you how much that sucker did not stay on my lips!

You can buy Bite Beauty at Sephora stores or from this link http://m.sephora.com/high-pigment-matte-pencil-P283905?skuId=1321645 from the online Sephora. They also have a Lip Lab in NYC. These two products were both $24 USD

Till next time, originals!

Love,
Alli

This entry was posted in Beauty Favorites, Natural Beauty and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Natural Wonders Review Part II, some products from Bite Beauty.

  1. I love Bite Beauty! I love that Sweety shade, might have to pick that one up next ๐Ÿ™‚ Great post xo
    http://abeautyobsession.com/

Leave a Reply

